6 Ways to improve Average order Value

As you know, Average order Value (AOV) measures the amount of money every customer spends per transaction on your eCommerce store.

improve Average order Value

One of the most important KPIs for any seller is to increase AOV. It is the most effective strategy to manage client acquisition costs while also reducing payback time and increasing ROI (Return On Investment).

This implies you can increase your revenues or spend more money on product development and marketing.

𝐈𝐧𝐜𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐬𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐀𝐎𝐕 𝐢𝐬 𝐨𝐧𝐞 𝐨𝐟 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝐛𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐬 𝐭𝐨 𝐛𝐨𝐨𝐬𝐭 𝐲𝐨𝐮𝐫𝐑𝐞𝐭𝐮𝐫𝐧 𝐨𝐧 𝐈𝐧𝐯𝐞𝐬𝐭𝐦𝐞𝐧𝐭 (𝐑𝐎𝐈).

 𝟔 𝐰𝐚𝐲𝐬 𝐚𝐫𝐞:

𝟏- Optimize your listing

𝟐- Provide your customers with incentives like Promotions or Discounts

𝟑- Add Visual Elements in images and listing

𝟒- Present your product as an IDEAL GIFT

𝟓- Use Cross-selling and upselling tactics

𝟔- Build a Strong Social Proof for your product listing

 𝐂𝐚𝐥𝐜𝐮𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐞 𝐀𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐚𝐠𝐞 𝐎𝐫𝐝𝐞𝐫 𝐕𝐚𝐥𝐮𝐞

Average order Value (AOV) = Total Revenue ÷ Number of orders

Let’s assume that your online store has generated a revenue of $1000 in the last month, and you have received 100 orders, then your AOV will be:

Average order Value = 1000 ÷ 100

Average order Value = 10

One significant aspect to note is that AOV is determined with the help of sales per order and not sales per customer.

 𝐍𝐨𝐭𝐞:

AOV doesn’t factor into your profit margins or gross profit but it is still a vital metric for decision making. 

AOV is directly co-related with keyword Ranking.